Alphaneo
Observing
Distributed energy · Evaluation published · New compute and industrial load needs power on a timeline the transmiss… · Published blind evaluationNuclear energy · Evaluation published · Spent nuclear fuel is treated as a storage cost. The question is whethe… · Published blind evaluationClimate hardware · Evaluation published · Cooling demand is rising faster than the grid can serve it. The interes… · Published blind evaluationBoston Metal · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchGroq, Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchRedwood Materials, Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchSpan Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchTS Conductor Corp. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchAyar Labs, Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchAnduril Industries, Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchLambda, Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchHadrian Automation, Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchCrusoe Energy Systems Inc. · Research review · Research revision 1 · Published Alphaneo researchCrusoe Energy Systems Inc. · Source evidence · Crusoe raised over $3 billion in a Series F round valuing the company a… · BloombergCrusoe Energy Systems Inc. · Financing closed · Series F · BloombergLambda, Inc. · Source evidence · Lambda is in talks to raise as much as $3 billion in a pre-IPO round at… · BloombergHadrian Automation, Inc. · Source evidence · Hadrian raised $1.37B in Series D equity, announced August 6, 2026, at… · PR NewswireHadrian Automation, Inc. · Financing closed · Series D · PR NewswireAnduril Industries, Inc. · Source evidence · Anduril's CEO said in July 2026 the company is delaying IPO plans, call… · Yahoo FinanceHadrian Automation, Inc. · Source evidence · Bloomberg reported in June 2026 that Hadrian was discussing a new round… · PYMNTS.comBoston Metal · Source evidence · Independent analysis argues Boston Metal's near-term commercial evidenc… · CleanTechnicaAnduril Industries, Inc. · Source evidence · Anduril won the U.S. Air Force's Collaborative Combat Aircraft producti… · Frag Out! MagazineCrusoe Energy Systems Inc. · Source evidence · Crusoe was pushed out of the 1.8GW Project Jade Wyoming data center cam… · BloombergBoston Metal · Source evidence · Boston Metal raised $75M in May 2026 from existing investors and new in… · Boston Metal
Coverage/Power/Span Inc.

Span Inc.

Power · Series C · California, USA · Founded 2018

In coverageDefine your mandate →

Overview

Company identity and Alphaneo’s view, with the evidence and dates behind it.

Span manufactures a smart electrical panel, a digitally controlled circuit-breaker panel with a companion app, that lets homeowners monitor and manage electricity use across solar, battery storage, EV charging, and electric heating and cooling, and has expanded into at-the-meter grid technology that utilities can use to manage residential load.

Company facts
Sector
Power
Stage
Late-stage private (Series C, in progress)
Headquarters
San Francisco, California, United States
Founded
2018
Coverage opened
Sep 2026
Revisions
1

The desk’s view

Span has raised over $200 million across a Series A, Series B and Series B2 before reportedly raising a Series C of up to $176 million,

Status: In coverageRevision 1Coverage since Sep 2026Signed · Sam BaleLast reviewed Sep 2026Coverage is research. Not an offer, and not a claim of availability.
Full view

with $163 million in equity sold as of a January 2026 SEC filing.

The company's investor base includes both financial investors, such as Wellington Management and Fifth Wall, and strategic or insurance capital, including Munich Re Ventures, Qualcomm Ventures and Amazon's Alexa Fund, and it has moved beyond direct-to-consumer sales into utility-facing partnerships, including a multi-year Landis+Gyr collaboration and participation in PG&E's virtual-power-plant pilot.

Reported 2026 initiatives, including a collaboration with Eaton and a SPAN XFRA distributed data-center power product, suggest the company is trying to extend its grid-edge hardware and software platform beyond the single-family home.

The core uncertainty is whether Span's device-level footprint can scale to utility-grade impact fast enough to matter for near-term load growth, versus remaining a niche premium product for early-adopter electrified homes.

We hold this at neutral stance while the Series C remains unclosed.

Why it matters

Span sits at the literal grid edge, downstream of generation and downstream of the utility meter, offering utilities and homeowners a lower-cost alternative to traditional pole, wire and transformer upgrades for absorbing electrification and load growth.

Evidence behind the view

4 entries
4 supporting0 contradicting
+Span raised a $96.5 million Series B2 round, announced April 24, 2023, led by Wellington Management, bringing total funding to $231 million.Apr 2023Span · highsupports
+Span raised a $90 million Series B round, announced March 28, 2022, led by Fifth Wall Climate Tech and Wellington Management.Mar 2022TechCrunch · highsupports
+Span is raising a Series C round of up to $176 million, with $163 million in equity sold as of a January 2026 SEC filing, as the company expands its business with utilities seeking lower-cost alternatives to new poles, wires and transformers.Jan 2026Axios Pro · mediumsupports
+Span participated in PG&E's virtual power plant pilot, coordinating roughly 400 smart panels and 1,500 residential batteries managed with Sunrun, and expanded a partnership with meter manufacturer Landis+Gyr.Feb 2026Span · mediumsupports

Source attribution and dates are shown where published. Missing dates remain undated.

What would make us wrong

Risks we hold
01The Series C is reported as still being raised rather than confirmed fully closed, with the final investor list not yet independently confirmed by primary source.severity 2/4
02A shift from direct-to-consumer home electrification toward utility-facing, grid-edge and now data-center power products increases execution complexity and could dilute focus.severity 2/4
03Incumbent panel and grid-hardware manufacturers, including Eaton, with which Span has also just announced a collaboration, could commoditize smart-panel functionality.severity 2/4
04Utility procurement and regulatory approval cycles are long, and pilots may not convert to broad, contracted deployment at meaningful scale.severity 3/4
What would change our view
  • The Series C fails to close at or near the reported roughly $176M target, or closes at a materially reduced valuation.
  • Utility pilot programs are not renewed or expanded after initial terms.
  • A lower-cost incumbent panel or grid-hardware manufacturer captures utility-side smart-panel share directly, reducing Span's differentiation.

What we are watching

OpenFormal close and final terms of the Series C round, reported at a roughly $176M target as of early 2026.
OpenExpansion or renewal of the Landis+Gyr and PG&E/Sunrun virtual-power-plant partnerships through 2026-2027.
OpenTraction for the newly announced SPAN XFRA data-center power product and the Eaton collaboration, both announced in 2026.

Financing history

Reported amount raised · USD
$90M
Series B
$97M
Series B2

Recorded closed financings. Bar height represents amount raised, not share price or current valuation.

RoundDateAmount raisedValuationLead / source
Series Copen · CLAIMJan 2026$163MNot disclosedNot disclosedAxios Pro
Series B2closed · CONFIRMEDApr 2023$96.5MNot disclosedWellington ManagementSpan
Series Bclosed · CONFIRMEDMar 2022$90MNot disclosedFifth Wall Climate Tech, Wellington ManagementTechCrunch

Sources

4 sources
Published herePublic-source
  • The view and what it rests on
  • Evidence with source attribution
  • Risks held openly
  • What would change our view
  • What we are watching
  • Public facts and public financing/history
  • Public coverage label and revision history
  • Related companies and themes
Held backNot published
  • Whether this fits your mandate
  • Deeper unpublished research
  • Company and founder relationship intelligence
  • Access, permission and allocation
  • Investor demand and identities
  • Confidential financing intelligence
  • Internal sourcing strategy

Alphaneo. “Span Inc. — coverage record, revision 1.” Alphaneo Coverage, September 7, 2026.

In coverageRevision 1Last reviewed Sep 2026Coverage since Sep 2026

Common questions

What does Span Inc. do?
Span manufactures a smart electrical panel, a digitally controlled circuit-breaker panel with a companion app, that lets homeowners monitor and manage electricity use across solar, battery storage, EV charging, and electric heating and cooling, and has expanded into at-the-meter grid technology that utilities can use to manage residential load.
What is Alphaneo's view on Span Inc.?
Span has raised over $200 million across a Series A, Series B and Series B2 before reportedly raising a Series C of up to $176 million, with $163 million in equity sold as of a January 2026 SEC filing. The company's investor base includes both financial investors, such as Wellington Management and Fifth Wall, and strategic or insurance capital, including Munich Re Ventures, Qualcomm Ventures and Amazon's Alexa Fund, and it has moved beyond direct-to-consumer sales into utility-facing partnerships, including a multi-year Landis+Gyr collaboration and participation in PG&E's virtual-power-plant pilot. Reported 2026 initiatives, including a collaboration with Eaton and a SPAN XFRA distributed data-center power product, suggest the company is trying to extend its grid-edge hardware and software platform beyond the single-family home. The core uncertainty is whether Span's device-level footprint can scale to utility-grade impact fast enough to matter for near-term load growth, versus remaining a niche premium product for early-adopter electrified homes. We hold this at neutral stance while the Series C remains unclosed.
What are the risks?
The Series C is reported as still being raised rather than confirmed fully closed, with the final investor list not yet independently confirmed by primary source. A shift from direct-to-consumer home electrification toward utility-facing, grid-edge and now data-center power products increases execution complexity and could dilute focus. Incumbent panel and grid-hardware manufacturers, including Eaton, with which Span has also just announced a collaboration, could commoditize smart-panel functionality. Utility procurement and regulatory approval cycles are long, and pilots may not convert to broad, contracted deployment at meaningful scale.
What would change Alphaneo's view?
The Series C fails to close at or near the reported roughly $176M target, or closes at a materially reduced valuation. Utility pilot programs are not renewed or expanded after initial terms. A lower-cost incumbent panel or grid-hardware manufacturer captures utility-side smart-panel share directly, reducing Span's differentiation.
Is Span Inc. available to invest in through Alphaneo?
Span Inc. appears here as a research record. Coverage does not disclose or establish investment availability, relationships, permission or allocation.

Continue exploring

Your investment focus

Put your interests on the desk.

Share the sectors, stages and markets you want Alphaneo to research.

Define your mandate →